12 years ago Umzimvubu local Municipality became the first local municipality to have a women’s caucus structure in the whole province. Falling under section 79 of the Speaker’s Office the structure was elected in 2005, Zola Skweyiya was among the guests to witness the launch of the structure that empowers, support and motivate women to continue with the hard work they put in every time to lead by example.

According to the Cllr B.P Mabhengu,”This caucus aims to create a better understanding an​d communication for all women around Umzimvubu as they have been giving their all to let men gain the power from ages back and that has been the case even at homes. Women are born leaders, always ethical and aligning dreams, engaging in responsible manner to serve the heart and integrity of people, leadership is women you can say.” She concluded.

On 14 March 2017 Umzimvubu Local Municipality launched its 3rd women’s caucus and it is as follows:

Florida Ngonyolo Chairperson
Xoliswa Jona Deputy Chairperson
Simthembile Mnyaiza Secretary
Hitha Dandala Deputy Secretary
Nosipho Ngalonkulu Treasurer


1 Nombulelo Gcadinja
2 Noziphiwo Mantshongo
3 Nkosi Nkhwezi Makaula
4 Nkosi Nonyaniso Fikeni
5 Zandile Garane
6 Noluvuyo Sonyabshe
7 Nomawushe Gogela
8 Nikiwe Zongwana
9 Ncumisa Nomagaga
10 Phumzile Makhinzi